Sport Introduction


Cross country ski racing in Australia is overseen by the SSA Cross Country Committee (SSA XC).

The vision of SSA XC is to provide cross country ski racing opportunities for all levels of athletes and achieve international excellence through high quality programs and pathways supported by a vibrant skiing community. Specific programs and duties of SSA XC include:

• Cross Country Skiing High Performance Program
• National Race Calendar
• Competition Rules
• Athlete Development Pathways
• Grassroots Development
• Coach Education
• Officials Education
• Fundraising
• Media & Promotion

These activities are managed via the SSA XC Sub-Committees.

SSA XC Committee Members

• Ben Derrick (Chair)
• Peter Cunningham (Vice-Chair)
• Finn Marsland (High Performance)
• Chris Darlington (Sport Development)
• Anthony Evans (Selection)
• Peter Ward (Events)
• Andrew Walker (Rules)
• Michelle Armstrong (Media/Communication/Sponsorship)
• Ronice Goebel (Grassroots Development)
• Stella Ajani (Athlete Representative)
• Nick Montgomery (Athlete Representative)