NSW & ACT Championships Results

July 19
Australian Racing

The NSW Sprint and ACT Distance championship events were both held at Perisher on Sunday July 18. The races were combined into the one day because of heavy snow and strong winds on Saturday when then NSW races were originally scheduled, and allowed more time for the 1/2 a metre of recent snow (in places) to be packed. Overall numbers were down on the usual state championship field due to the limitations across the state, but most of the national team athletes based in NSW were able to compete.

Zana Evans and Bentley Walker-Broose were the fastest skiers in the Freestyle Sprint NSW Championship, with Zana doubling up as the first U18/U20. Hugo Hinckfuss was the first U20 male and Jack Hirst the first U18. In the shorter sprint, Phoenix Sparke and Sean’Hope Craig were the fastest male and female U16 skiers, River Lusted and Satara Moon the fastest U14, and Ben and Hanna Wichgers the fastest U12.

In the ACT Classic Distance races Aimee Watson was the fastest overall in the 5km event, ahead of Rosie Fordham the first U20 junior skier. Rhiannon Castle was the first U18. In the 7.5km event Bentley-Walker Broose made it a double for the day, with Jack Hirst the first U18/U20 junior. In the shorter distances and younger classes Phoenix Sparke was the first U16 boy and Charlotte Walker-Broose the first U16 girl, River Lusted and Sarah Baxter won their respective events in the U14, and Ben and Hannah Wichgers won the U12.

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Bentley Walker Broose (@bentleywalker_broose_xc)

The Sprint time trial and full Classic results are included below.

Unfortunately the Victorian Junior Championships scheduled for Falls Creek had to be cancelled due to the 5-day lockdown that came into place last Thursday.