2020 AUSXC Awards

August 5
AUSXC Awards

Belatedly, the Snow Australia Cross Country Committee is proud to announce the winners of the 2020 AUSXC Awards. These awards celebrate and recognise the achievements and efforts of Australian skiers, coaches and volunteers over the 2019 Australian winter and the 2019-2020 northern hemisphere winter.

Normally held in Canberra in April, the 2020 AUSXC Awards were postponed due to the Coronavirus. With a shift to a completely new format (thanks AUSXC athlete Nic Blackwell), the winners of the 2020 awards were announced via Instagram in the last week of July.

Many familiar names took out the top awards, with Jessica Yeaton being awarded Cross Country Skier of the Year for the second year in a row, and Callum Watson also going back-to-back winning the Coach of the Year. Jane Scheer also kept her Masters Skier of the Year streak going with her fourth consecutive award.

View this post on Instagram

Today we are celebrating our coaches with the awards for Coach of the year and Development Coach of the year. Without them many of us would not have made it as far as we have or did in the sport. So thank you all. But without further a do the Coach of the year is Callum Watson. For the second year in a row this award goes to Callum Watson! Personally coaching half of the Junior Team athletes throughout 2019, Callum once again led the Australian Junior Tour to Europe in December/January. A new feather to his bow, Callum coached the Australian Team at the 2020 Winter Youth Olympic Games in Lausanne, where the four athletes achieved amazing results. Coordinating dry-land training with NSW juniors in Sydney and playing a key role in the NSW winter on-snow program are just some of the other contributions Callum has made to junior athlete development over the past year. Way to go Callum! @snowaust @sportaus @podiumwear @lausanne2020 @nswxcski @perisherxc

A post shared by AUSXC (@ausxc) on

The full list of 2020 AUSXC Award winners is as follows:

Further details and images of all award winners can viewed on the AUSXC Instagram account.