2020 World Junior/U23 Team

February 20
Team Selection

Ten athletes have been selected to the Australian Team for the 2020 World Junior / U23 Championships that are set to take place in Oberwiesenthal, Germany, beginning on February 29.

The full team is as follows:

U23 Athletes

Junior Athletes

U23 skier Seve de Campo heads into his second U23 World Championship with a solid season of racing under his belt including personal best performances on World Cup, OPA Cup and at the Norwegian Championship.

“It has been a good season so far for me with some really consistent racing and I feel I have made a good step forward”, said Seve earlier this week. “I’m really excited to compete at these U23 World Champs as I know I’ve done everything this year to put my best foot forward and get some great results.”

The junior team includes two A-qualified athletes, Rosie Fordham and Bentley Walker-Broose. Bentley raced at the 2019 World Juniors in Finland, and appears ready to step it up this year after a series of strong results on OPA Cup. While this will be Rosie’s World Junior debut, she already experienced a high level of competition this season at the Youth Olympic Games where she achieved an impressive 36th place in the 5km Classic.

With four junior men selected, Australia is set to field a relay team for the fourth year in a row. The team is currently in Davos in Switzerland undergoing the final preparation under the supervision of coaches Valerio Leccardi, Iris Pessey and Thomas McMahon. Alasdair Tutt will join the coaching/waxing support team when the team travels to Germany next week.

“With a lot of snow kilometers mixed in with intensity we have been able work well and hard towards the upcoming championships in Oberwiesenthal,” reported Valerio from Davos. “The majority of the athletes are in very promising form and I am looking forward to seeing them racing and comparing with the best athletes in the world in their age class.”

Keep up to date with the team via @ausxc on Instagram and Facebook.

Seve de Campo

Ella Jackson

Nic Blackwell

Rosie Fordham

Declan Burke

Phoebe Cridland

Adam Barnett

Lily Murnane

Fedele de Campo

Bentley Walker Broose