2019 AUSXC Award Winners

April 27
AUSXC Awards

The 2019 AUSXC Awards were held at the AIS in Canberra on Saturday April 13. These awards celebrate and recognise the achievements and efforts of Australian skiers, coaches and volunteers over the preceding 12 months.

Topping the performance awards, Jessica Yeaton was awarded the 2019 Cross Country Skier of the Year. Jessica recorded her best season to date, scoring 8 podium places in FIS competition on the North American circuit, and achieving Australia’s best ever performance a FIS World Championship with 22nd place in the Skiathlon at Seefeld 2019.

Coach of the Year was awarded to Callum Watson, who made a seamless transition from athlete to coach leading the AUSXC Junior Tour to Europe and the Junior Team at the 2019 World Junior Championship, as well as coaching with the NSWXC team and playing a pivotal role in the 2018 athlete pathway review.

View this post on Instagram

Honoured to be awarded XC Rising Star at the 2019 AUSXC awards last night. An enormous thank you to my coach @callumwxc for his endless support and congratulations to him being awarded the 2019 AUSXC Coach of the Year. ⚡️✨ #ausxc #nswxcski #rhythmsnowsports #rhythmriders #rojosnow

A post shared by Emily Champion (@emily_champion_) on

The full list of 2019 AUSXC Award winners is as follows:

U23 Skier of the Year Kat Paul & Young Achiever Zana Evans