2018 AUS Rollerski Champs – Results

April 18

The 2018 Australian Rollerski Championships took place at the Stromlo Forest Park in Canberra on Saturday April 14. A record 72 athletes were entered in the events, which included Sprint and Criterium events in freestyle technique. 2018 Australian Winter Olympian Barbara Jezersek made a clean sweep of the Open Women’s races, while in the Open Men fellow Winter Olympian Callum Watson won the Criterium and Sindre Saetre Hammerlund from Norway won the Sprint.

All open competitors raced on the same brand of rollerskis for the first time in Australia, with live timing another first at these championships. The event was sponsored by Swenor Rollerskis, Rollerski Australia, Snow Trek & Travel, and Snowracer, SSA’s Event HQ for entries, results and live timing.

Full results for both events can be viewed here:

Awesome day at the 2018 Australian Rollerski Championship @stromloforestpark yesterday! Record number of participants, lots of action and close competitions with international stars on the start line! Thank you to sponsors @swenorrollerskis and @racefox.se for great prizes and roller skis! #rollerskiaustralia #swenor #swenorskate #ausxc #australianchampion #rollerskiing #rollerski #rulleski #xcskiing #skiing #championship #canberra #australia #crosscountryskiing #langrenn #amazing #fun #racing #sport #sport #athlete #speed #ausxc #pictureoftheday #cardio #langrenn #ski #skiing #sporty #liveterbestute

A post shared by Roller Ski Australia (@rollerskiaustralia) on

In the younger classes Isabella Moon and Hugo Hinckfuss were the female and male winners in both the U16 Sprint and Criterium events, while Damika Morton and Alberto Allan also won both events in the U12 categories. In the Masters Men category Pauli Viljakainen won the Sprint and Ivar Berget the Criterium, and in the Master Women Jenny Kent won both.

The next rollerski event on the Australian calendar is the Victorian Rollerski & Skike Championship at Lake Mountain on Sunday May 6.

Criterium action: (5) Hannah Price – 3rd in Open Women, (9) Teresa Riman – 5th Open Women, (62) Tommi Sylvester – 4th U16 Men