Six XC Skiers Selected for Pyeongchang 2018

January 28
Winter Olympics

A record six Australian XC skiers have been selected to the 2018 Winter Olympics in Pyeongchang. The final two athletes were confirmed on Thursday January 25 following the allocation of final quota places by FIS.  Phillip Bellingham, Barbara Jezersek, Aimee Watson, Callum Watson, Casey Wright and Jessica Yeaton will represent Australia at the games, which will take place in South Korea from February 10-25.


AUSXC Head Coach Valerio Leccardi will lead the XC contingent to Pyeongchang, with a dedicated support team of Randy Gibbs (head wax tech), Gus Kaeding (wax tech), Paul Moore (wax tech), and Finn Marsland (coach/tech).

Bellingham, Jezersek, Yeaton and Callum Watson are in action on World Cup in Seefeld this weekend, while Aimee Watson and Wright are undertaking their final preparation for Pyeongchang in Silver Star and Anchorage respectively. All team members fly into Seoul on February 5, with the women’s Skiathlon the first event on February 10.

While each athlete has their main individual events they are targeting, a key event for Australia at these games is the Team Sprint on February 21. The Aussie pairs of Jezersek/Yeaton and Bellingham/Watson achieved breakthrough results in this event at the Dresden World Cup earlier this month, with the women making the final and finishing 10th and the men knocking off a number of top nations to finish 12th.

Huge weekend for Australian XC Skiing – @jjyeaton & @barbarajezersek 10th, @callumwxc & @philpotbell 12th in the Team Sprint in Dresden! 1st World Cup final for the team, and nearly 2nd as well! Plus WC points for Phil yesterday! Amazing effort everyone!

A post shared by AUSXC (@ausxc) on

News via during the games will be limited, but the performances of the XC athletes can be followed via @ausxc on social media and the Australian Olympic Team website.

XC Event Schedule

Support Team – Updated 31 January

Valerio Leccardi Randy Gibbs
Gus Kaeding Paul Moore